My Hunted Sunrise

by Natalie Robin

Since I woke up so early yesterday, I couldn’t help but fall asleep early again last night, in part because I was listening to Electric Ladyland and it was so dreamy, and also because I just couldn’t stay awake. I didn’t mind at all perpetuating this early to bed early to rise, wake-sleep cycle, as I got to go on another adventure when I again woke up before 6am.

Since it was to be a clear morning I was determined to see the sunrise, so I figured I may as well head somewhere towards Twin Peaks and see what vistas I could find. After many winding roads and much confusion as to where I was going, I first ended up in some ambiguous place with absolutely no idea where I was and clearly no view. I didn’t bother exploring because I still had to be to work at 8:30 and the prospect of getting lost in the woods, though enticing, wasn’t an option. It smelled really wonderful though.Image

I continued in my car feeling slightly defeated because it was already 7:00am, and I was totally lost. In my disappointment in thinking I wouldn’t see the sunrise, I kept going to hopefully get even a flicker of it filtered through the many obstructions whilst driving. As I circled around neighborhoods I was unfamiliar with I finally came to a street that said “Skyview”, which sounded literal and promising enough to take my chances. This took me to “Cityview” which finally led me to “Midcrest”, and the fact that there was a sign at Midcrest letting me know there was no outlet, seemed all the more reason to go down it.

I was glad I did, because when I parked at the end I found a path and a sign telling me to stay on that path, the guidance of which I was thankful for at that point. I went up a small muddy hill and found a set of wooden stairs that led me to a guard rail, which I obviously hopped and crossed an empty, paved road leading to more wooden stairs that had been nested into the side of an even bigger hill. As I walked toward my uncertain destination I saw an orange glow start to fill up bits of the terrain and realized there was a very real sunrise about to happen just within my reach. I bolted up the enormous, stair-laden hill and found myself at the top, completely out of breath, just as the sun was peeking over the eastern view from what I realized was the South Summit of Twin Peaks.

I spent a good half an hour up there just slowly moving in circles to take in the view which put Downtown, Sutro Tower, and my hunted sunrise all within sight. I found myself smiling often simply because I couldn’t contain how good it felt. A man did come up with his shouldered bike at one point and it ruined my moment ever-so-slightly, but I came around to sharing it with him. ImageImage

