In “trees”

by Natalie Robin

In looking for something to practice my writing today, I read through a list of prompts I found on a website and while skimming, saw one that read:

write using the adage “these things happen in trees.”

I thought this a very exciting and strange prompt, before my next thought that I’ve never heard such a magical adage, and so I re-read the prompt and registered the initially overlooked “h”, making the prompt actually read “these things happen in threes“, and as usual, my eventual disappointment was the realization of my own mistake.

I know that’s a kind of discouraging way to begin the day, but it’s raining, again, and since most of the soles of my shoes are falling apart, I anticipate at some point, having to sit around in wet socks for a long time.

